Zult et al., 2013 - Reisverslag uit Newcastle upon Tyne, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Tjerk Zult - WaarBenJij.nu Zult et al., 2013 - Reisverslag uit Newcastle upon Tyne, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Tjerk Zult - WaarBenJij.nu

Zult et al., 2013

Door: Tjerk Zult

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Tjerk

17 Februari 2013 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Newcastle upon Tyne

After eight months of effort my moment of fame is finally there, Zult et al., 2013 is ready for submission. I worked hard last two weeks to get the review ready for submission (perfectionism can be very annoying sometimes), but I’m very content with the final version now. Hopefully the reviewers of the Journal are content with this piece of work too. It’s now time to focus fully on the mirror training study and possibly this will result in another piece of work of Zult and Co.

What I forgot to tell in my last blog is that during the trip to the Baltic Centre two weeks ago we crossed the way with some “drunken” Scottish guys. They asked me about my nationality and after my answer they immediately shouted the name of Raymond van Barneveld. It’s not the first name that comes up when I think about famous Dutch persons, but today’s massage is that to become famous in Scotland: Let’s play darts!

Another remarkable thing that happened two weeks ago was the entrance of a woman in my office. She was talking with a PhD student about a potential training study and at a certain moment she starts a talk with me in Dutch. I didn’t expect this language move, so it took me some effort to change from English to Dutch. It was nice to speak a few words in Dutch and most remarkable was that she has studied in Groningen as well. The world in which we life can be very small sometimes.

This small world made it possible for my Dutch supervisor to come over for a couple of days. We spend a lot of time in the lab on Friday and Saturday, which resulted in some pilot measurement and a definite plan for my mirror training study. Thereby, we had a good night out with the whole research team on Friday, which made it even harder to get to the lab at 8 a.m. next day. But it was all worth it.

Last week was not really spectacular. To celebrate the almost finished review I went on Friday to a club named “Tup Tup”, but it was so crowded there that moving was almost impossible. Fortunately the pre-party was a good start of the evening instead of the disappointing club visit later that night.

Yesterday I went to the coast of Newcastle together with three other international students. The coast was beautiful with spectacular views of ruins, the pier and the sea (see attached photos). This all combined with a perfect lunch of fish and chips made it a very nice day trip.

That’s it for now. I will keep you posted.

Cheers,
T.

  • 22 Februari 2013 - 11:27

    Peter , Marita , Maarten , Tijmen:

    Tjerk ,

    Wensen jou veel succes in Newcastle upon Tyne

    Groeten uit Apeldoorn


    PMMT

  • 22 Februari 2013 - 17:48

    Tjerk Zult:

    Dankje! Tot nu toe gaat alles goed hier.

    Groeten aan iedereen,
    Tjerk

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Tjerk

Actief sinds 19 Jan. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 317
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9143

Voorgaande reizen:

18 Januari 2013 - 13 Juli 2013

Research Project, Newcastle Upon Tyne

Landen bezocht: